Home Page

Phase 2

Phase 2- Children are introduced to the first 5 sets of sounds in the English language. They practise letter recognition to support them in reading, writing and spelling (also known as a sound's grapheme- it's written form), continue to practise oral blending and segmenting and read and write VC and CVC words (words made from a vowel and consonant, like it, or consonant vowel consonant, like cat).

Set 1- s a t p

Set 2- i n m d

Set 3- g o c k 

Set 4- ck e u r

Set 5- h b s/ss f/ff l/ll